A Writer’s Day: 16

It’s been quite a long time since I’ve written anything and I’m not proud of that fact. Writing used to be all I cared about. It used to be my escape from the world, reality, and even my own thoughts and fears. It was the one thing I could do to take my mind off everything and really enjoy myself. I was happy about the content I was creating and happy about all the great people I was meeting as well as the great tips I was learning from said people. But then I just stopped.

I fell out of writing. You could say I fell out of love with writing. I’m not sure why or what made me stop. I just slowly moved away from writing and into other things. I drew for a while, then moved to a few different games in that time. But now I want to write, again.

I want to get back into it and have that great feeling when I’m creating something wonderful. I want to feel that satisfying feeling of finishing a story. I want to remember what it’s like to write and write and just write all day long! Looking forward to waking up and doing early morning writing sprints, then spending the rest of the day working on other projects. World building, planning, summary’s, character development. I want to do it all again. Times where I knew I should’ve been in bed but couldn’t pull myself away from my story even if it was 3am.

I NEED it back. Writing was, at one point, the only thing to give me happiness and enjoyment. I feel like if I get back to that I’ll be in a much better state than I am currently.

Sure it’ll take time to get back to how I was. I know that. I don’t expect to write thousands of words a day like before. But I want to start, as small as I have to as long as I start. I still want to write a book.And I still want to write short stories everyday.

The hardest part for me right now is having motivation and inspiration to actually write something. It feels so hard for me to even right a few lines down. I always thought writing would be the one thing I would never grow out of or stop doing, but I did. I’m disappointed with myself for that fact. But I am trying to start again, and that’s all I can really do at this point. And right now, any progress is still progress in the right direction to me.

Even if this post doesn’t get read by anyone, and even if it’s just a long rant about me not actually writing, it’s still writing something. So from this point on, I’m going to make it a point, a challenge, to write as much as I can everyday. Whether that be a line, a short story, or a chapter, it’s the writing itself that counts. If I miss a day I won’t kick myself, but just try to get that much more excited for the next day of writing.

So, this is my public decree. I’m going to announce it for everyone. Hopefully this will help me work harder towards my goal and be held accountable for my actions. And that’s all I can do at this point.

What do you do when you are getting out of a long writing slump? How do you find inspiration and motivation to write? Do I start small on stories, or reread my novel and try to get back into it? Will you help me keep on track whether it be on here or on twitter?

2 Comments

Filed under Writer's Day

2 responses to “A Writer’s Day: 16

  1. A few days late on this, but welcome back, Sean! I’m glad you’re feeling at least better enough to start blogging again! We’re here for you, whether you need encouragement, some tips, or a simple kick in the butt. 😉 But most importantly we’re here to remind you not to be too hard on yourself! I haven’t (creatively) written anything of worth in months. I can blame it on not being motivated, on having a lot going on in my life right now, but in the end it comes down to one thing and one thing only: Everyone is different.

    Some people can write through even the busiest of chapters in their lives and others (like you and me) need to step away when things get hectic. It’s okay, it happens! That’s not to say we won’t change in the future or that we shouldn’t be a little more stringent about it… it’s just to say that everyone has a hard time now and then and it’s perfectly okay to take some time to do what you gotta do to feel better!

    That being said, if you think writing will make you feel better (as I do), get on it! Even just blogging like this helps I’m sure. I never feel quite as light/unloaded as when I just finish writing something, even if it’s just a blog or journal entry. And for that reason, I am constantly wondering why I don’t journal/keep a diary anymore.

    Anyway, sorry to leave an essay on your blog! I’ll stop stealing the spotlight now. Point is: you’re loved, you’re supported, and you’re awesome. So get writing with us in a few sprints and start feeling better! 🙂

    • Thank you so much. You have no idea what reading all that meant to me. I will definitely take you up on that kick in the butt offer. 😛

      Writing does, or at least used to, help most of the time to get me feeling better. As for right now, I just haven’t written as much to know if that is still the case.

      Please, never apologize for commenting on my blog. Especially when it includes such kind and sweet thoughts and words like yours has! It’s a great feeling to know that I’m truly not alone in this. In support but also in writing “style” I suppose is the word, maybe habits? Because honestly I was starting to feel that way a bit.

      Again thank you so much and I hope you know you are loved and supported just the same. I think I’m going to start a new blog post right now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

