The Day The Inspiration Stood Still

Today’s prompt is to write about your earliest memory. Well I have already written about that exact thing before. So this idea bores me. Instead, I will just do some musing and oozing of ideas and such I suppose. More rambling than anything.

Why is it that writing can be so easy one moment, and then in the next it is the most difficult thing to be accomplished by a human being?

Recently I’ve been lucky enough to see both extremes of this writer’s spectrum. It started with the former. I was so happy and into my writing, I didn’t want to stop. I was planing and plotting my NaNo novel. I have outlined the whole thing, coming to a “final” outline of 2,094 words. This is both scary and exciting for me. Mostly because like I’ve said before, I never outline. I have a few ideas in my head and then I just write the thing. That’s it. No more. No less. This is the first time I’ve ever tried to pre-plan more than a few ideas for a story let alone a whole detailed outline. But this outline has made me feel great and excited about my story. So much so to the point where I just want it to be November already so I can start it. It’s taking everything I have not to open it up and write more on it right now.

At the beginning of this week I was also pumping out short stories and flash fiction like it was nothing. I had no problem coming up with an idea and writing. Or even just writing before I had the idea. It was great. I never wanted it to end. But unfortunately all good things come to an end.

This brings me to the past two days. Mostly tonight though. I’ve barely written a thing. I have a few ideas in my head but not sure which to go with. And other than those few, I can’t think of anything to write. I don’t want to use prompts, but I don’t want to go back to my original novel. But I also don’t want to really continue on this new fantasy I started. Nothing is left. I have no ideas and no motivation or inspiration to write. I just sit at the computer and struggle to even put a word down. I had to sit down and force myself to write earlier just to get 600 words for my #writechain. It wasn’t pretty or very fun. And neither is this whole not writing thing when I want to write. I love writing but I just can’t. No ideas. Too many ideas. No motivation. No inspiration. No creation. Nothing. I’m very stuck and I’m not sure which way to go from here. I suppose only time will tell.

I just wish more than anything to write. But I’m also stuck in the fact that I want to try too many things. Do I start a new novel, maybe a short story, perhaps a novella, or what about just a 300 word piece of flash fiction. There’s also working on the dozens of old projects I have. But with all these possibilities, not even one thing or idea is jumping out at me. I’m just stuck.

So instead of trying to pick and idea or piece together an idea. I will sit here and continue to write uninteresting blog posts to entertain a select few.

So, I’ll ask you. What should I do? What should I write?

2 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Blog Challenge, Rant

2 responses to “The Day The Inspiration Stood Still

  1. This is something that I have personally been struggling with. There is no doubt in my mind that I want to write, but I just can’t. Too many thoughts and ideas but it’s so jumbled that I can’t even piece one together. And then the frustration just wears me thin.
    I think you should try and go back and read your original story. From the beginning. Get the feel for it again and then see what happens. I know for a fact that this novel was something you wanted finished by NaNo and it was also a really good goal for yourself.
    Ideas will stay there, and if you don’t think they will, then write them down in a notebook strictly for ideas. Try to focus on one thing. If you start twenty different things at once then your mind will get pulled a million different ways. Just like if you let yourself get distracted, especially with social media and the like you will NEVER get it done. And you will just have more ideas pulling you every which way. I think word sprints are a great thing but the Internet can be dangerous for a writer who wants to get their novel or any story together. Looking at myself here.
    I know this was long, but I hope it helps!

  2. I agree with Katrina about going back to the original novel. The one that started this whole enterprise of writing. You originally wanted to have Refuge finished before NaNo. Now that you have a great outline and are raring to go for NaNo you need to step away, write Refuge and then 2 weeks or so before NaNo get reinspired by your outline.

Leave a Reply

