Damnit, I’m a Writer. Not a Doctor.

Today’s prompt is, If I could have any job in the world, what would it be?

Honestly if I could have any job, right now, I’d choose to be a full time writer. Now technically I already have this job. I’m a student in college with just one class. I don’t currently have a real job. And you can find me most days writing all day, every day.

But what I mean is I wish to be a writer where I can live off of my writing and just that. Although writing has never been about being popular or making money to me, it’d still be nice to be able to just write without the worry of paying bills. Would I love to publish a book? Sure, who wouldn’t?! But I’d also like to just write and have a few extra dollars every month.

This also brought me to a thought I had. What’s the difference between a Writer and an Author? Is it that Authors are published? So would that mean that all Authors are Writers, but not all Writers are Authors? I truly believe I’m a writer, but am I really an author? It could just be a state of mind really. It could also just be what you choose to call yourself. Or like I said, it could be whether you are published or not.

All in all, I want to write. I never want to stop writing. And if I have to call something my “job” and get paid for it, I wish for it to be writing.

What is your dream job? What do you think the difference is between a Writer and an Author? Let me know in the comments.

Happy writing!

3 Comments

Filed under 30 Day Blog Challenge

3 responses to “Damnit, I’m a Writer. Not a Doctor.

  1. steviepreater

    Good luck with it all! I’d like to call myself a writer, and hopefully someday an author… And yeah, I know what you mean about wanting to be able to live off your writing. Then we really would be living the dream, eh?

    • Thank you so much! Good luck to you too. I call myself a writer now, it’s the author part that gets me confused.

      I really do think that’d be living the dream. Especially if people really enjoy your work too.

Leave a Reply

