A Writer’s Day: Part 11

I was told today by a good friend of mine that I had to continue writing A Writer’s Day, so here it is. Surprisingly I’m writing this rather early, mostly because I’m not sure how late I may be staying up.

Today started with me waking up and being forced outside to do yard work all day. This was quite upsetting because all morning I saw some of my Twitter Friends… (tweeps are they?) writing and doing word sprints. I wanted nothing more than to join them on their quest for a finished book or chapter or paragraph. But alas I was stuck doing a worker’s duty.

Finally, I was able to work on my story idea for NaNoWriMo. I added about 1200 words to the first chapter and finished it. This is both good and bad. It’s great that I got that many words in in one day without an outline or anything. It’s bad though because the maximum I would do on this story (like actually writing it) before NaNoWriMo was just the first chapter.

So now, I get to spend the next month and a half planning, and plotting, and working on characters, and back story, and world building without any actual writing or adding to the story. I don’t know what I’m going to do with myself.

I really have grown to love this story and am super excited to continue it. But I don’t want to write too much and not have enough room left during NaNo. A few things have changed about it too.

I’ve added more creatures. My main character has no race or name yet, but his friend and his mentor both do. The city has been fleshed out a bit, and I’ve had a realization about the gods of this land. I suppose the next month I will do a lot of reading. I just wish I could write it too.

I don’t think I’ve ever wanted to write a story so much before. This is especially interesting to me because for one, I’m not a huge fantasy writer, so now that I have the chance to it’s exhilarating. For two, I love Greek Mythology and that is pretty much the basis and back bone of this world, loosely of course, but still. I am just so excited!

When do you start getting excited about NaNoWriMo? How much do you plan or prewrite before NaNo? And, Greek Mythology anyone?!

2 Comments

Filed under NaNo Prep, Writer's Day

2 responses to “A Writer’s Day: Part 11

  1. I’m all for the Greek Mythology aspect of your novel and I can say that I am certainly excited to hear more about it and read it soon!

  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo Day 8 – Ulan | Unwritten Thoughts

Leave a Reply

