Writer’s Insomnia?

Insomnia. It can be great for a writer, but it can also be hell.

The Greatness of Insomnia for a Writer (a bulleted list):

  • More time to write your story.
  • More time to flesh out characters and plot.
  • With enough coffee, a great way to jump start your writing day.
  • A good way to get ahead of your word count goals.
  • Who needs sleep anyway?

The Hell of Insomnia for a Writer (another bulleted list):

  • More time to over think your story.
  • More time to nitpick everything you’re doing wrong in your plot.
  • With enough coffee, a long tired day of no motivation to actually write.
  • Unless you know what to write, it’s a poor way to get ANYTHING on your word count.
  • Who needs sleep anyway?

You now see the differences and similarities. I have not slept yet, and I feel the want and need to write. Yet I’ve no idea what to write. Should I work on my novel? Maybe start a new story? Check out a few writing prompts for ideas? Perhaps I’ll just write a witty blog post…

The list goes on and on. If you have no motivation to actually write, or you don’t know what to write, being up all night is hell. You know you want to write. You know you should be writing. And yet there’s nothing. No muse, no inspiration, no motivation. Absolutely no creation.

It’s nights like these I miss those late nights of staying up just so I could write more in my novel because I was inspired.

17 Comments

Filed under Insomnia, Non Fiction

17 responses to “Writer’s Insomnia?

  1. I enjoy writing while tired, just before bed. There’s something about it that brushes away my ability to over-think or over-analyse my words. And sometimes it’s just nice (and more efficient) to just blurt it all out as it comes to me. Usually my blurting is my best writing, too 🙂 Maybe I shouldn’t go to bed tonight…

  2. Pingback: Story updates | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

